

COUNCIL (ANNUAL)

MINUTES

19 MAY 2016

Present: * Councillor Krishna Suresh (The Worshipful the Mayor)

* Councillor Mrs Rekha Shah (The Deputy Mayor)

Councillors: * Ghazanfar Ali

* Richard Almond

* Mrs Chika Amadi

* Jeff Anderson

* Sue Anderson

* Marilyn Ashton

* Mrs Camilla Bath

* June Baxter

* Christine Bednell

* James Bond

* Michael Borio

* Simon Brown

* Kam Chana

* Ramji Chauhan

* Bob Currie

* Niraj Dattani

* Margaret Davine

* Jo Dooley

* Keith Ferry

* Ms Pamela Fitzpatrick

* Stephen Greek

† Mitzi Green

* Susan Hall

* Glen Hearnden

* Graham Henson

* John Hinkley

* Ameet Jogia

* Manjibhai Kara

* Barry Kendler

* Jean Lammiman

* Barry Macleod-Cullinane

† Kairul Kareema Marikar

* Ajay Maru

* Jerry Miles

† Mrs Vina Mithani

* Amir Moshenson

* Chris Mote

* Janet Mote

* Christopher Noyce

* Phillip O'Dell

* Paul Osborn

* Nitin Parekh

* Ms Mina Parmar

* Varsha Parmar

* Primesh Patel

* Pritesh Patel

* David Perry

* Kanti Rabadia

* Kiran Ramchandani

* Mrs Christine Robson

* Lynda Seymour

* Aneka Shah-Levy

* Sachin Shah

* Norman Stevenson

* Sasi Suresh

* Adam Swersky

* Bharat Thakker

* Antonio Weiss

* Georgia Weston

* Anne Whitehead

* Stephen Wright

* Denotes Member present

† Denotes apologies received

Council - 19 May 2016 - 77 -

PRAYERS

The meeting opened with Prayers offered by Reverend Matthew Stone, Mayor's Chaplain & Rector of St John The Evangelist, Stanmore.

163. ELECTION OF MAYOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mrs Rekha Shah be elected Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

164. ELECTION AND INVESTITURE OF DEPUTY MAYOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Margaret Davine be elected Deputy Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

165. APPOINTMENT OF CHAPLAIN

The Mayor confirmed to Council that she had appointed the following as her Chaplains for her Mayoral Year:

Jain - Vinod Kapashi

Hindu - His Grace Srutidharma das, Temple President of Bhaktivedanta Manor Hare Krishna Temple

Christian – Father James Power, Priest of Borough Church of St Mary's & Harrow School

Jewish – Rabbi Kathleen de Magtige-Middleton, Mosaic Reform Synagogue

Muslim - Professor Imam Hafiz Muhammad Akram, Harrow Central Mosque & Masood Islamic Centre.

166. CIVIC FUNCTIONS

RESOLVED: That the dates of the Civic Functions be noted.

167. APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillors Sachin Shah and Susan Hall were each proposed and seconded for the position of the Leader of the Council.

Councillor Barry Kendler moved that the question be now put. This was carried.

Upon being put to the vote it was

RESOLVED: That Councillor Sachin Shah be appointed as Leader of the Council.

- 78 - Council - 19 May 2016

168. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Mayor invited appropriate declarations of interest.

Item 14 – London Regeneration Fund Grant

Councillor Susan Hall declared a pecuniary interest in that she ran a business in Wealdstone and that the proposals would directly affect her business. She would leave the Chamber for the consideration and voting on this item.

169. PROCEDURAL MOTIONS

There were no procedural motions.

170. COUNCIL MINUTES

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting held on 25 February 2016 be taken as read and signed as a correct record.

171. RECOGNITION OF LONG SERVICE - COUNCILLOR CHRISTINE BEDNELL

RESOLVED: That

- (1) the Council acknowledge Councillor Christine Bednell's 45 years' service as a Member for Harrow Council in May 2016;
- (2) the Council of the London Borough of Harrow do hereby record their appreciation of the 45 years' service by Councillor Christine Bednell to the London Borough of Harrow and for these words to be engrossed on vellum, framed and publicly presented to Councillor Bednell at the Council Meeting in September 2016;
- (3) the milestone of achieving 40 years' service by a Councillor in future will be brought to the attention of the Mayor and the Leader of the Council by the Director of Legal and Governance Services for consideration on a case by case basis as to whether a scroll should be presented to the Councillor.

172. CABINET AND COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

Councillor Sachin Shah moved an amendment to the recommendations. This was seconded by Councillor Keith Ferry.

Councillor Keith Ferry moved that, in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 16.2, the question be now put. This was seconded by Councillor Barry Kendler and was carried. Upon being put to the vote the amendment was carried.

RESOLVED: That

(i) it be noted that Councillor Keith Ferry was the Deputy Leader of the Council:

Council - 19 May 2016 - 79 -

- (ii) it be noted that the Councillors appointed to Cabinet with the identified portfolios, as contained in the report, be noted;
- (iii) the terms of reference for the Portfolio Holders attached at Appendix A to the report be agreed for inclusion in the Council's Constitution;
- (iv) the determination of the allocation of places on the Council's Committees contained in the report and in accordance with the 'political balance' rules in the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 be agreed and Members be appointed to them, in accordance with the notification from Political Groups;
- (v) the establishment and terms of reference of all of the Council's Committees and other bodies contained in Appendix B to the report be agreed;
- (vi) the establishment and terms of reference of all of the Cabinet Advisory Panels and Consultative Forums, as set out in Appendix C, be agreed;
- (vii) the first sentence of Article 7 of the Council's Constitution be amended to read as follows:

"The Leader may appoint a maximum of 4 non-executive members of cabinet from the voluntary sector and from elected Members;"

(viii) it be noted that the Leader of Council appointed Councillor David Perry as a non-executive member of Cabinet.

173. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRS TO COMMITTEES

RESOLVED: That the following Councillors be elected as the Chairs of the relevant Committees:

Governance, Audit, Risk Management and Standards	Councillor Antonio Weiss
Health and Wellbeing Board	Councillor Sachin Shah
Licensing and General Purposes	Councillor Krishna Suresh
Overview and Scrutiny	Councillor Jerry Miles
Planning	Councillor Keith Ferry
Pension Fund	Councillor Nitin Parekh

- 80 - Council - 19 May 2016

174. APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE BODIES

RESOLVED: That the Outside Body appointments for the Municipal Year 2016/17 be approved, as set out on the supplemental summons.

175. SCRUTINY ANNUAL REPORT 2015-16

RESOLVED: That the Scrutiny Annual Report 2015/16 be endorsed.

176. LONDON REGENERATION FUND GRANT

RESOLVED: That the following new projects be funded through the London Regeneration Fund and other external funding in 2016/17 to 2019/20 Capital Programme:

- Artisan Workspace £0.66m;
- Creation of a public Town Square in Wealdstone in £1.165m.

177. EQUALITIES VISION AND OBJECTIVES

RESOLVED: That the 'Vision' for Equalities be endorsed and the revised Corporate Equality Objectives and the Action Plan to support these, Appendix 1 to Cabinet report refers, be agreed.

178. DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS 2016/17

RESOLVED: That the dates of the following Council meetings be confirmed:

22 September 2016 1 December 2016 23 February 2017 18 May 2017 (Annual)

(CLOSE OF MEETING: All business having been completed, the Mayor declared the meeting closed at 8.46 pm).

Council - 19 May 2016 - 81 -